Clothes and toiletries and shoes OH MY! The horrors of packing.

When I got the email in December of 2012 that I was going to be spending my entire summer of 2013 interning in London – my excitement was unreal. However, My pre-London checklist had me the most stressed out. I got my security clearance only a few weeks before my start date, quickly bought international health insurance, sent in all the paperwork for my visa, booked my flight, and shopped for more business appropriate attire. And thats when it hit me – SHOPPING. After spending well over $300 on new clothes – Thank you Express – I realized I was only allowed to bring one 50 pound bag and a carry on for my three month experience. Wait what?!

 Image

So this journey I was about to embark on had me running around back and forth and with the help of tons of travel blogs online – Packing was easier then I could have imagined.

When packing your entire life into one checked bag EVERY cubic inch counts so ROLL YOUR CLOTHES. I swear by it and live by it and am glad I did this because I was able to bring more then I thought I could! Rolling your clothes works perfectly with skirts and blouses. 

You may not pack liquid or gel substances in your carry-on unless they are in individual containers of 3.4 ounces or less and enclosed in one clear, quart-size, plastic, zip-top bag per passenger. So remember this!! I lost a very expensive bottle of Conditioner and hair products. Not sure? Check out this link if you’re not sure what you can bring!

Don’t overpack and stuff your suitcase – in some cases your luggage may end up being the one that gets randomly screened so to avoid losing anything – keep it simple.

How do you keep it simple? Pack only a few essential shoes. I brought one pair of running shoes, one pair of TOMS, two pair of heels and called it a day. For three months I was interning at the Embassy in London and I lived off four pair of shoes – so I think you can do it too!

Finally, fold two of your clothes at a time! This method makes so much sense and really helps and keeps some of your clothes wrinkle free.

Image

To my fellow travel enthusiasts – what do you recommend?

Leave a Reply

